Stack Bill

Compare · Hosting / deploy · Last checked

Render vs Railway: free tier and first paid price (checked 2026-10-19)

Render has a free plan that stays free; Railway has no lasting free plan. Render Paid instance (workspace stays Hobby) or Pro workspace: $7/month instance, or Pro workspace $25/month + compute; Railway Hobby: $5/month minimum usage. These first paid prices are not directly comparable from the list prices alone. Only Railway says no card is needed.

Render and Railway side by side
FactRenderRailway
Free planStays freeNo lasting free plan
Card for the free planUnknownNot required
EU regionUnknownUnknown
First paid planPaid instance (workspace stays Hobby) or Pro workspaceHobby
First paid price$7/month instance, or Pro workspace $25/month + compute$5/month minimum usage
Free plan includesHobby workspace is $0/month + compute, for personal projects and prototypes, with 5 GB bandwidth included. Free compute: web services $0/month (512 MB RAM, limitations apply), Postgres $0/month (256 MB RAM, 100 connections), Key Value $0/month (25 MB RAM, 50 connections). FAQ: free compute is for exploring, personal projects, and previews, and has usage limits.Free is $0 per month to start: '30-day free trial with $5 credits, then $1 per month'. After the trial: up to 1 vCPU / 0.5 GB RAM per service and 0.5 GB volume storage. Page says 'No credit card required'.
Free limits
  • Hobby workspace $0/month
  • Free web service: 512 MB RAM
  • Free Postgres: 256 MB RAM, 100 connections
  • 5 GB bandwidth included on Hobby
  • 30-day trial with $5 credits
  • Then $1/month
  • After trial: up to 1 vCPU and 0.5 GB RAM per service
  • 0.5 GB volume storage
Paid plan noteSmallest paid web service row: less than 1 CPU, 512 MB RAM, $7/month. Pro workspace is $25/month + compute and includes 25 GB bandwidth.Hobby includes $5 of monthly usage credits. The Free plan itself becomes $1/month after the trial.
EU / data region notePage says 'Global regions & CDN' but does not name an EU city.Hobby lists 'Global regions'. No EU city is named on the pricing page.
Last checked
Pricing pagerender.com/pricingrailway.com/pricing

Questions

Does Render or Railway have a free plan?

Render has a free plan that stays free; Railway has no lasting free plan. Checked 2026-10-19: Render pricing, Railway pricing.

Which is cheaper to start paying for, Render or Railway?

Render Paid instance (workspace stays Hobby) or Pro workspace: $7/month instance, or Pro workspace $25/month + compute; Railway Hobby: $5/month minimum usage. These first paid prices are not directly comparable from the list prices alone. Checked 2026-10-19: Render pricing, Railway pricing.

Do Render and Railway need a credit card for the free plan?

Render does not say whether a card is needed; Railway says no credit card is needed for the free plan. Checked 2026-10-19: Render pricing, Railway pricing.

Do Render and Railway offer an EU region?

Render does not state an EU region; Railway does not state an EU region. Checked 2026-10-19: Render pricing, Railway pricing.

Sources

Every cell is copied from the official pricing pages. The verdict is generated from those fields and makes no other claims. "Unknown" means the page did not say. Prices change: check the vendor page before you buy.

More Hosting / deploy comparisons