Compare · Hosting / deploy · Last checked
Vercel vs Render: free tier and first paid price (checked 2026-10-19)
Both have a free plan that stays free. Vercel Pro: $20/month; Render Paid instance (workspace stays Hobby) or Pro workspace: $7/month instance, or Pro workspace $25/month + compute. These first paid prices are not directly comparable from the list prices alone.
| Fact | Vercel | Render |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Stays free | Stays free |
| Card for the free plan | Unknown | Unknown |
| EU region | Unknown | Unknown |
| First paid plan | Pro | Paid instance (workspace stays Hobby) or Pro workspace |
| First paid price | $20/month | $7/month instance, or Pro workspace $25/month + compute |
| Free plan includes | Hobby is $0/month: import a repo, automatic CI/CD, global CDN, WAF, DDoS mitigation. Included usage on the comparison table: 1M CDN requests/month and 100 GB Fast Data Transfer/month. | Hobby workspace is $0/month + compute, for personal projects and prototypes, with 5 GB bandwidth included. Free compute: web services $0/month (512 MB RAM, limitations apply), Postgres $0/month (256 MB RAM, 100 connections), Key Value $0/month (25 MB RAM, 50 connections). FAQ: free compute is for exploring, personal projects, and previews, and has usage limits. |
| Free limits |
|
|
| Paid plan note | Pro includes $20 of included usage credit and is labeled as including a free trial ('Start a free trial'). | Smallest paid web service row: less than 1 CPU, 512 MB RAM, $7/month. Pro workspace is $25/month + compute and includes 25 GB bandwidth. |
| EU / data region note | Pricing page mentions EU-U.S. DPF. It does not state an EU-only compute region. | Page says 'Global regions & CDN' but does not name an EU city. |
| Last checked | ||
| Pricing page | vercel.com/pricing | render.com/pricing |
Questions
Does Vercel or Render have a free plan?
Vercel has a free plan that stays free; Render has a free plan that stays free. Checked 2026-10-19: Vercel pricing, Render pricing.
Which is cheaper to start paying for, Vercel or Render?
Vercel Pro: $20/month; Render Paid instance (workspace stays Hobby) or Pro workspace: $7/month instance, or Pro workspace $25/month + compute. These first paid prices are not directly comparable from the list prices alone. Checked 2026-10-19: Vercel pricing, Render pricing.
Do Vercel and Render need a credit card for the free plan?
Vercel does not say whether a card is needed; Render does not say whether a card is needed. Checked 2026-10-19: Vercel pricing, Render pricing.
Do Vercel and Render offer an EU region?
Vercel does not state an EU region; Render does not state an EU region. Checked 2026-10-19: Vercel pricing, Render pricing.
Sources
- Vercel pricing page (checked 2026-10-19)
- Render pricing page (checked 2026-10-19)
Every cell is copied from the official pricing pages. The verdict is generated from those fields and makes no other claims. "Unknown" means the page did not say. Prices change: check the vendor page before you buy.
Vercel free tierRender free tierAll comparisons