Stack Bill

Compare · Hosting / deploy · Last checked

Render vs DigitalOcean App Platform: free tier and first paid price (checked 2026-10-19)

Both have a free plan that stays free. Render Paid instance (workspace stays Hobby) or Pro workspace: $7/month instance, or Pro workspace $25/month + compute; DigitalOcean App Platform Paid Tier: $5/month. These first paid prices are not directly comparable from the list prices alone.

Render and DigitalOcean App Platform side by side
FactRenderDigitalOcean App Platform
Free planStays freeStays free
Card for the free planUnknownUnknown
EU regionUnknownUnknown
First paid planPaid instance (workspace stays Hobby) or Pro workspacePaid Tier
First paid price$7/month instance, or Pro workspace $25/month + compute$5/month
Free plan includesHobby workspace is $0/month + compute, for personal projects and prototypes, with 5 GB bandwidth included. Free compute: web services $0/month (512 MB RAM, limitations apply), Postgres $0/month (256 MB RAM, 100 connections), Key Value $0/month (25 MB RAM, 50 connections). FAQ: free compute is for exploring, personal projects, and previews, and has usage limits.Free Tier starting at $0/month: 3 apps with static sites, 1 GiB data transfer allowance per app with static sites, deploy from GitHub and GitLab, automatic HTTPS, custom domain, global CDN, DDoS mitigation, unlimited team members.
Free limits
  • Hobby workspace $0/month
  • Free web service: 512 MB RAM
  • Free Postgres: 256 MB RAM, 100 connections
  • 5 GB bandwidth included on Hobby
  • 3 static-site apps
  • 1 GiB data transfer per static app
  • Automatic HTTPS and custom domain
Paid plan noteSmallest paid web service row: less than 1 CPU, 512 MB RAM, $7/month. Pro workspace is $25/month + compute and includes 25 GB bandwidth.Container price table starts at $5.00. FAQ also mentions a '$5 free credit' without spelling out the terms in the extracted text.
EU / data region notePage says 'Global regions & CDN' but does not name an EU city.Not stated on this pricing page.
Last checked
Pricing pagerender.com/pricingwww.digitalocean.com/pricing/app-platform

Questions

Does Render or DigitalOcean App Platform have a free plan?

Render has a free plan that stays free; DigitalOcean App Platform has a free plan that stays free. Checked 2026-10-19: Render pricing, DigitalOcean App Platform pricing.

Which is cheaper to start paying for, Render or DigitalOcean App Platform?

Render Paid instance (workspace stays Hobby) or Pro workspace: $7/month instance, or Pro workspace $25/month + compute; DigitalOcean App Platform Paid Tier: $5/month. These first paid prices are not directly comparable from the list prices alone. Checked 2026-10-19: Render pricing, DigitalOcean App Platform pricing.

Do Render and DigitalOcean App Platform need a credit card for the free plan?

Render does not say whether a card is needed; DigitalOcean App Platform does not say whether a card is needed. Checked 2026-10-19: Render pricing, DigitalOcean App Platform pricing.

Do Render and DigitalOcean App Platform offer an EU region?

Render does not state an EU region; DigitalOcean App Platform does not state an EU region. Checked 2026-10-19: Render pricing, DigitalOcean App Platform pricing.

Sources

Every cell is copied from the official pricing pages. The verdict is generated from those fields and makes no other claims. "Unknown" means the page did not say. Prices change: check the vendor page before you buy.

More Hosting / deploy comparisons