Compare · Database · Last checked
Supabase vs PlanetScale: free tier and first paid price (checked 2026-10-19)
Supabase has a free plan that stays free; PlanetScale has no lasting free plan. Supabase Pro: $25/month; PlanetScale Single node: Starting at $5/month. These first paid prices are not directly comparable from the list prices alone. Only PlanetScale says it offers an EU region.
| Fact | Supabase | PlanetScale |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Stays free | No lasting free plan |
| Card for the free plan | Unknown | Unknown |
| EU region | Unknown | Yes |
| First paid plan | Pro | Single node |
| First paid price | $25/month | Starting at $5/month |
| Free plan includes | Free, $0/month: 50,000 monthly active users, 500 MB database size, shared CPU, 500 MB RAM, 5 GB egress, 1 GB file storage. 'Free projects are paused after 1 week of inactivity. Limit of 2 active projects.' | The pricing page does not list a $0 plan. It describes single-node clusters 'starting at $5/month' for development and low-traffic workloads, and Metal 'starting at $50/month'. |
| Free limits |
|
|
| Paid plan note | Pro: 100,000 MAU then $0.00325 per MAU, 8 GB disk then $0.125/GB, 250 GB egress. Paid plans include $10/month compute credit (one Micro instance). | A sample configuration on the page estimated $41/month (a $30 line plus an $11 storage line) for AWS us-east-1. 100 GB public egress included, then $0.06/GB. |
| EU / data region note | Not stated on the pricing page text captured. | Page: 'Deploy in any AWS or GCP region with at least 3 availability zones.' It does not name a city. |
| Last checked | ||
| Pricing page | supabase.com/pricing | planetscale.com/pricing |
Questions
Does Supabase or PlanetScale have a free plan?
Supabase has a free plan that stays free; PlanetScale has no lasting free plan. Checked 2026-10-19: Supabase pricing, PlanetScale pricing.
Which is cheaper to start paying for, Supabase or PlanetScale?
Supabase Pro: $25/month; PlanetScale Single node: Starting at $5/month. These first paid prices are not directly comparable from the list prices alone. Checked 2026-10-19: Supabase pricing, PlanetScale pricing.
Do Supabase and PlanetScale need a credit card for the free plan?
Supabase does not say whether a card is needed; PlanetScale does not say whether a card is needed. Checked 2026-10-19: Supabase pricing, PlanetScale pricing.
Do Supabase and PlanetScale offer an EU region?
Supabase does not state an EU region; PlanetScale says it offers an EU region. Checked 2026-10-19: Supabase pricing, PlanetScale pricing.
Sources
- Supabase pricing page (checked 2026-10-19)
- PlanetScale pricing page (checked 2026-10-19)
Every cell is copied from the official pricing pages. The verdict is generated from those fields and makes no other claims. "Unknown" means the page did not say. Prices change: check the vendor page before you buy.
Supabase free tierPlanetScale free tierAll comparisons