Stack Bill

Compare · Auth · Last checked

Clerk vs Auth0: free tier and first paid price (checked 2026-10-19)

Both have a free plan that stays free. On list price, Clerk's first paid plan is cheaper. Clerk Pro: $25/month ($20/month billed annually); Auth0 Essentials: $35/month.

Clerk and Auth0 side by side
FactClerkAuth0
Free planStays freeStays free
Card for the free planNot requiredNot required
EU regionUnknownUnknown
First paid planProEssentials
First paid price$25/month ($20/month billed annually)$35/month
Free plan includesHobby is Free and says 'No credit card required'. Marketing line on the same page: free for the first 50,000 monthly retained users and 100 monthly retained orgs.Free plan: 'No credit card needed', up to 25,000 monthly active users, basic attack protection. Footnote: credit card verification is required for custom domains.
Free limits
  • No credit card required
  • 50,000 monthly retained users
  • 100 monthly retained organizations
  • Up to 25,000 MAU
  • No credit card needed
  • Card verification required for custom domains
Paid plan noteComparison row: '$0 | $25/mo, $20/mo billed annually | $300/mo, $250/mo billed annually'. Extra MAU on Pro shown at $0.02/month each.The rendered page places 'Up to 500 monthly active users' next to Essentials, which is lower than the Free MAU cap. Recorded as shown; treat that 500 figure as needing a second look.
EU / data region notePage says the service is built to be compliant with GDPR principles. It does not name an EU hosting region.Not stated on the captured pricing text.
Last checked
Pricing pageclerk.com/pricingauth0.com/pricing

Questions

Does Clerk or Auth0 have a free plan?

Clerk has a free plan that stays free; Auth0 has a free plan that stays free. Checked 2026-10-19: Clerk pricing, Auth0 pricing.

Which is cheaper to start paying for, Clerk or Auth0?

On list price, Clerk's first paid plan is cheaper. Clerk Pro: $25/month ($20/month billed annually); Auth0 Essentials: $35/month. Checked 2026-10-19: Clerk pricing, Auth0 pricing.

Do Clerk and Auth0 need a credit card for the free plan?

Both say no credit card is needed for the free plan. Checked 2026-10-19: Clerk pricing, Auth0 pricing.

Do Clerk and Auth0 offer an EU region?

Clerk does not state an EU region; Auth0 does not state an EU region. Checked 2026-10-19: Clerk pricing, Auth0 pricing.

Sources

Every cell is copied from the official pricing pages. The verdict is generated from those fields and makes no other claims. "Unknown" means the page did not say. Prices change: check the vendor page before you buy.

More Auth comparisons