Stack Bill

Compare · Auth · Last checked

Clerk vs WorkOS: free tier and first paid price (checked 2026-10-19)

Both have a free plan that stays free. Clerk Pro: $25/month ($20/month billed annually); WorkOS SSO connection: $125 each. These first paid prices are not directly comparable from the list prices alone.

Clerk and WorkOS side by side
FactClerkWorkOS
Free planStays freeStays free
Card for the free planNot requiredNot required
EU regionUnknownUnknown
First paid planProSSO connection
First paid price$25/month ($20/month billed annually)$125 each
Free plan includesHobby is Free and says 'No credit card required'. Marketing line on the same page: free for the first 50,000 monthly retained users and 100 monthly retained orgs.Page: 'First 1 million active users free.' And: 'WorkOS is free to get started and you don't need to add a credit card until you are ready to move to production.' Staging is free for testing.
Free limits
  • No credit card required
  • 50,000 monthly retained users
  • 100 monthly retained organizations
  • First 1 million active users free
  • No credit card until production
  • Staging environment at no cost
Paid plan noteComparison row: '$0 | $25/mo, $20/mo billed annually | $300/mo, $250/mo billed annually'. Extra MAU on Pro shown at $0.02/month each.A $125 price is also shown as '$125 / mo' on the page. Directory sync and Admin Portal custom domain are separate line items. A $2,500/month figure appears but is not labeled in the captured text, so it is not assigned to a plan here.
EU / data region notePage says the service is built to be compliant with GDPR principles. It does not name an EU hosting region.Not stated on the pricing page.
Last checked
Pricing pageclerk.com/pricingworkos.com/pricing

Questions

Does Clerk or WorkOS have a free plan?

Clerk has a free plan that stays free; WorkOS has a free plan that stays free. Checked 2026-10-19: Clerk pricing, WorkOS pricing.

Which is cheaper to start paying for, Clerk or WorkOS?

Clerk Pro: $25/month ($20/month billed annually); WorkOS SSO connection: $125 each. These first paid prices are not directly comparable from the list prices alone. Checked 2026-10-19: Clerk pricing, WorkOS pricing.

Do Clerk and WorkOS need a credit card for the free plan?

Both say no credit card is needed for the free plan. Checked 2026-10-19: Clerk pricing, WorkOS pricing.

Do Clerk and WorkOS offer an EU region?

Clerk does not state an EU region; WorkOS does not state an EU region. Checked 2026-10-19: Clerk pricing, WorkOS pricing.

Sources

Every cell is copied from the official pricing pages. The verdict is generated from those fields and makes no other claims. "Unknown" means the page did not say. Prices change: check the vendor page before you buy.

More Auth comparisons